Sleepless in Seattle

02/03/2009

With every rejection, I realize what was meant to be, and what was not.

With every acceptance, I find somewhere that is willing to take a chance on me, somewhere that believes of what I can achieve.

With every letter I get in the mail, I am one step closer to my future, to finding out who I am.

Everyday it gets easier. As my wrinkles soften and my nails grow out, I begin to accept the course of my life and deal with what is given to me. Today, I got into SEATTLE UNIVERSITY. Hmmm… Seattle………… When I think of Seattle, I think of Tom Hanks racing through the Empire State building taking his son into his arms, I think of trendy graphic designers rocking out on the bass with their fashion forward Asian drummer girlfriends, and I think of eccentric independent coffee houses covered wall to wall with multicolored piano lesson ads and miscellaneous band fliers.

Seattle sounds enticing, a whole new world of grunge music, hobo fashion, and aspiring writers.

What more can you ask for?

Laura Marianne

“I wanted to move to Seattle, sell my ass, and be a punk rocker, but I was too afraid.”

– Kurt Cobain

6 Responses to “Sleepless in Seattle”

  1. Shini said

    I’m not so familiar with the characteristics of different states in the US, but something about Seattle (probably all those movies) makes it seem very relaxed and easygoing. Congratulations for getting accepted :D! what are you planning to study?

  2. very strange, i am moving to seattle in december!

    i love that city. i love clean air, clean water and the mass transportation and the culture.

    i love how within 100 miles there is almost every climate type on earth.

    anyway, i’ll be quiet now.

  3. Shini said

    OHh my boyfriend goes to Queen Mary. Not the best uni neightbourhood though, I must say. City is in Angel so that’s very studenty and Central-Northy. Oh but what does neighbourhood matter, eh? Did you apply though :D?

  4. Actually, I’m taking a break from school currently because it’s too expensive and I have no idea what I want to do…

    I’m just moving with some friends to get out of Wisconsin and find some adventure, and be young while I still am. 🙂

  5. watcat said

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  6. matt said

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

